Giorgio Scerbanenco is considered by many to be the father of Italian noir and has been called ‘the Italian Simenon’. He worked as a journalist and as a contributor to women’s magazines before turning to crime fiction and noir. The most prestigious Italian literary prize for crime fiction is named after him, and many of his novels have been dramatised for cinema in Italian, Spanish and French. The Duca Lamberti series, his most famous noir work, comprises:

Venere privata (1966) – A Private Venus
Traditori di tutti (1966)
I ragazzi del massacro (1968)
I milanesi ammazzano al sabato (1968)


Maurizio de Giovanni photographMaurizio de Giovanni lives and works in Naples. In 2005, he won a writing competition for unpublished authors with a short story set in the thirties about Commissario Ricciardi, which was then turned into the first novel of the series. The last book in the series has been shortlisted for the Premio Scerbanenco and has won the Premio Camaiore.

His books have been successfully translated into French, Spanish and German, and are now available in English for the first time. He is a staunch supporter of SSC Napoli.

Commissario Ricciardi is the protagonist of the following novels:

Il senso del dolore. L’inverno del commissario Ricciardi (2007) – I Will Have Vengeance
La condanna del sangue. La primavera del commissario Ricciardi (2008)
Il posto di ognuno. L’estate del commissario Ricciardi (2009)
Il giorno dei morti. L’autunno del commissario Ricciardi (2010)
Per mano mia. Il Natale del commissario Ricciardi (2011)


Alessandro Perissinotto was born in Turin in 1964, where he teaches sociology and creative writing at the University. He has written various essays on linguistics and multimedia and started writing fiction in 1997, with a detective novel set in the Sixties (L’anno che uccisero Rosetta), followed by La Canzone di Colombano, set in the sixteenth century, and Treno 8017 which is inspired by a real life train accident the 1940s. In 2006 he published the first in the Anna Pavesi trilogy, Una Piccola Storia Ignobile, with protagonist the psychologist Anna Pavesi.

His novels have won numerous prizes including the Premio Grinzane Cavour in 2005 and the Premio Camaiore in 2006 (with Una Piccola Storia Ignobile, published in English as Blood Sisters and all of his books have been translated into several European languages as well as Japanese.

His latest book, Semina il Vento, is an inter-racial love story set in Piemonte.
He is also a contributor to the daily La Stampa, with articles and short stories published in the Torino Sette supplement. He has published the following novels:

L’anno che uccisero Rosetta (1997)
La canzone di Colombano (2000)
Treno 8017 (2003)
Al mio giudice (2004)
Una piccola storia ignobile (2006) – Blood Sisters
L’ultima notte bianca (2007)
L’orchestra del Titanic (2008)
Per vendetta (2009)
Semina il vento (2011) – Interview on Vanity Fair (in Italian)


Luigi Guicciardi is from Modena, where he lives and teaches Italian and Latin at the Liceo Tassoni. His successful Inspector Cataldo series includes:

La calda estate del commissario Cataldo (1999) *
Filastrocca di sangue per il commissario Cataldo (2000) *
Relazioni pericolose per il commissario Cataldo (2001)
Un nido di vipere per il commissario Cataldo (2003)
Cadaveri diversi (2004)
Occhi nel buio (2006)
Dipinto nel sangue (2007) – Interview (in Italian)
Errore di prospettiva (2008) – Review (in Italian)
Senza rimorso (2008)
La belva (2009) – Interview (in Italian)
La morte ha mille mani (2010)

* both shortlisted for the Premio Scerbanenco and translated in German by Heyne.